Samsung Omnia 7 hangs on reboot while getting the 7.0.7392.0 patch for Windows Phone 7

The latest update for the Windows Phone 7 appeared yesterday (May 17th, 2011) when I docked my Samsung Omnia 7 to my Samsung Netbook NC10 to get the latest podcasts via Zune. This update was predominantly a security update to protect against some third party web vulnerabilities. An article on the update can be found at http://www.redmondpie.com/windows-phone-7-7392-firmware-update-being-rolled-out/

However, the process appeared to hang on reboot. The phone would not get passed the “Samsung Omnia 7” start up screen no matter how long I left it. If I took out the battery and replaced it, my phone would start as normal but every attempt at the update failed. I eventually gave up and got on with my working day.

However, a quick internet search this evening came up with a Microsoft Knowledge Base article published yesterday at http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2547687.

I followed the procedure described and was able to complete the patch update without further issues.

This is the first time that I have had a problem with a Windows Phone 7 update but all is well in the world again!

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Gustav

     /  May 20, 2011

    Unfortunately, that didn’t do it.
    Followed the download and the guide carefully but the phone will not boot into download mode, thus no update.
    Will now contact Samsung support.

    Reply
  2. Did your phone startup as normal after you took the battery out?

    While the phone was switched off, I held down both the volume up and camera buttons in one hand (!), and then plugged the transfer/docking cable in with the other (very awkward). In my case, the download mode displayed almost immediately.

    Reply
  3. Vasco

     /  May 20, 2011

    Thanks, it worked ok!

    Reply
  4. Hi. Thanks for posting this. How long did it take for your phone from when you connected it until the “Start” button was activated?

    I get at message in the system tray that the USB device is not recognized, but I’m not sure if it is supposed to do that or not?

    Reply
  5. Just to update on this. I was having trouble getting the phone to connect, but it helped to move the USB cable to another port (not a HUB). Updated smoothly after that.

    Reply
  6. After connecting my phone in download mode and running the Samsung Device Update Support Tool, Windows 7 searched for the drivers to install – not one driver but three in total. This takes far longer than expected. The “installing device driver” message should appear on the taskbar and you can click it to get more details on the progress.

    Even after this, it took another couple of minutes (or felt as if it did) before the start button became active.

    Separately, I have had several incidents when docking the phone reported USB device not recognised. I retry on the same or a different USB port. I do find this more frequent when another music device (my older Archos 3 MP3) is connected.

    Reply
  7. Thorell

     /  June 7, 2011

    THANK YOU!!!!
    You saved my day, week and month with this.
    Was having the exact same problem and this solved it on try one.
    Thank you once again from the bottom of my heart 😀

    Reply
  8. AmsWill

     /  September 27, 2011

    holaaa….. tengo el omnia 7… me lo enviaron hace 4dias…. y sin saber nada del tema lo actualize a las version 7.0.7392.0 y se actualizó sin problemas…. pero… tengo un problema… no me llegan las notificaciones push del “msn(by miyowa)” ni del “facebook(2.1.0.0)” ni de “Fim”….. no se a que se debe…. siempre ando conectado a la wifi de mi casa…… y he probado enviarme mensajes,comentario desde mi otra cuenta en mi pc.. y nada… no me llegan las notificaciones push……

    PD: cada aplicacion ya esta configurada (marcadas las casilas para recibir N.push)… pero sigo sin recivirlas!!.. solo me llegan las del correo marketplace mensajes del telefono y nada mas!! 😦 ayudaaaaaaaaa a alguien le pasa lo mismo??

    Reply
  9. AmsWill

     /  September 27, 2011

    english:
    hello ….. I have the omnia 7 … 4days ago I sent him …. and without knowing anything about the upgrade to the version 7.0.7392.0 and updated without problems …. but … I have a problem … I do not get push notifications of “msn (by Miyowa)” or the “facebook (2.1.0.0)” or “Fim “….. not to be …. I’m always connected to the wifi in my house …… and I’ve tried to send messages, comments from my other account on my pc .. and nothing … I do not get push notifications ……

    PS: every application is already configured (marked to receive the Casile N.push) … but I still recividos! .. I only get the e-marketplace phone messages and nothing but! : (Help someone feels the same?

    Reply
  1. WP7 Mango arrives for Samsung Omnia 7 on Three network « DBA By Day, Gamer By Night

Leave a Reply

