WP7 Mango arrives for Samsung Omnia 7 on Three network

I spent the last couple of days trying to figure out how to get the Windows Phone 7 Mango update for my Samsung Omnia 7 on the Three (Hutchinson Ireland) network without much success.

However, the effort was irrelevant when my Zune PC software announced the arrival of this latest update a few minutes ago after syncing the phone.

This update was without that drama of an earlier 7392 patch last May that caused many an Omnia 7 to reboot endlessly. There were a number of reboots & updates throughout the process (step 7 took the longest). Allow about an hour for the whole process.

If you have not yet received this latest update, details of the US and International rollout schedules are posted on Microsoft Windows Phone website. Furthermore, you can get a summary of just some of the 500+ new features added to WP7 by visit this Windows Phone website – with tethering, improved calendar & multitaksing being of most interest to me.

One wonders whether the rollout was more aggressive than normal with the imminent arrival of the iPhone 5 in the next few days.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Chickc78

     /  October 4, 2011

    Unfortunately looks like Three have disabled the Tethering option 😦
    I don’t have it on my newly ‘Mango’d’ Omnia 7

    Reply
  2. Glenn

     /  November 30, 2011

    I’ve been told on two separate occasions by Three that Mango is not available on their network at this time, yet since October I’ve read dozens of reviews for Mango on the Omnia, which I have. What gives? I’ve even got a Three engineer phoning me tomorrow about why they or I rather, can’t update…

    Reply
    • The mango update worked perfectly for me on my Three.ie Omnia 7; I did not need to force it through. There have been a number of updates since then, including tonight.

      I have heard of ways to force the update through by interrupting your PC’s network connection during an update check. With the right timing, the update can proceed without approval from the network provider. Though, I have not tried it myself.

      Reply
  3. Thanks for the info about Samsung

    Reply

Leave a Reply

